CAMOGIE: All-Ireland Senior Final Preview – GALWAY

CAMOGIE: All-Ireland Senior Final Preview – GALWAY

Check out the articles and stats below to give you the full insight into Galway before the All-Ireland Final


PODCAST: The Curtain Raiser – Friday, 11th December 2020

PODCAST: SportsDaz Camogie (All-Ireland Final Special) – Thursday, 10th December 2020 (with Sarah Dervan)

PODCAST: The Third Half – Monday, 30th November 2020 (with Cathal Murray)


CAMOGIE: Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Championship Final Preview

CAMOGIE: Galway And Kilkenny Set For Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Championship Final This Saturday

CAMOGIE: “We Know How Good Kilkenny Are” – Galway Manager Cathal Murray

GOAL: Gritty Galway See Off Tipp To Set Up All-Ireland Final Repeat With Kilkenny 

CAMOGIE: Murray Cautious Despite Galway Victory And Not Ruling Out Rebel Reunion 

CAMOGIE: Hennelly’s Heroics Nudge Galway Past Cork While Carton’s 1-14 Earns Déise Knockout Spot 

CAMOGIE: “I Got Two Goals Against Offaly… There’s More For Me To Work On There Because I Didn’t Take Them Well At All” – Galway’s Niamh Hanniffy 

CAMOGIE: Galway Take Care Of Business To Advance To Last Six

CAMOGIE: Green Shoots For Model But Galway On A Different Level

CAMOGIE: Galway And Wexford Serve Up Treat, Tipp Too Strong For Clare

CAMOGIE – All-Ireland Championship Preview: EMMA HELEBERT (Galway)

CAMOGIE Press Release: Fixture Change – Galway Vs Cork – Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Championship


 Match information – Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Championship Final

Galway v Kilkenny

Date: Saturday, December 12th 2020

Venue: Croke Park , Dublin

Throw in: 7:00pm

In the event of a draw the replay will take place on Saturday December 19th (Venue etc. TBC).

Match Officials:

Referee: Owen Elliot (Antrim)

Standby/Line: John Dermody (Westmeath)

Linesperson: Ray Kelly (Kildare)

4th Official: Andy Larkin (Cork)

5th Official: Kevin O’Brien (Limerick)

Umpires: Seán Magee, John Sayers, Kieran McGuinness, Paul O’Neill


 Path to the Final:

 Galway – Group 1

18th October: Wexford 3-9 Galway 5-17

1st November: Galway 3-13 Offaly 0-3

8th November: Galway 0-15 Cork 0-12

Semi-Final: 28th November: Galway 1-11 Tipperary 0-8


Galway Championship Stats 2020:

Games Played: 4 Matches

Total Number of Goals: 9 Goals

Total Number of Points: 64 Points

Total Number of Goals Conceded: 2 Goals

Total Number of Points Conceded: 34 Points

Biggest Winning Margin: v Offaly in Round 2 by 19 Points

Most Conceded in a Game: v Wexford in Round 1 (3 Goals 9 Points)


Past Finals between the two Counties:

2013: Galway 1-9 Kilkenny 0-7

2019: Galway 3-14 Kilkenny 0-17


Total Number of Senior Championship Finals Reached: (Including 2020)

Galway: 19


Total Number of Senior Championship Titles:

Galway: 3


First All-Ireland Senior Championship Final Appearance:

Galway: 1932


Laura Glynn Sarsfields Goalkeeper Personal Trainer & Athletic Therapist
Sarah Healy St. Thomas Goalkeeper Student
Ciara Donohue Mullagh Defender Behaviour Therapist
Dervla Higgins Athenry Defender Athletic Therapist
Emma Helebert Ballinderreen Defender Midwife
Heather Cooney St. Thomas Defender Primary School Teacher
Lisa Casserly Ballinderreen Defender HR Recruitment Consultant
Lorraine Ryan Kiltulla/Killimordaly Defender Secondary School Teacher
Róisín Black Oranmore/Maree Defender Primary School Teacher
Sarah Dervan Mullagh Defender Industrial Engineer
Shauna Healy Ardrahan Defender Podiatrist
Siobhán Coen Ballinderreen Defender Occupational Therapist
Siobhán Gardiner Ardrahan Defender Dentist
Tara Kenny Sarsfields Defender Quality Technician
Ann Marie Starr Killimor Midfielder Supply Chain Planner
Aoife Donohue Mullagh Midfielder Secondary School Teacher
Caitriona Cormican Cappataggle Midfielder Doctor in General Practice
Ciara Murphy Clarinbridge Midfielder Secondary School Teacher
Molly Mannion Mountbellew/Moylough Midfielder Student
Niamh McGrath Sarsfields Midfielder Solicitor
Ailish O’Reilly Oranmore/Maree Forward Primary School Teacher
Carrie Dolan Clarinbridge Forward Student
Catherine Finnerty Mountbellew/Moylough Forward Student
Niamh Hanniffy Oranmore/Maree Forward Secondary School Teacher
Niamh Kilkenny Pearses Forward Secondary School Teacher
Noreen Coen Athenry Forward Secondary School Teacher
Orlaith McGrath Sarsfields Forward Secondary School Teacher
Rebecca Hennelly Ardrahan Forward Gym Owner/Personal Trainer
Sarah Spellman Sarsfields Forward Student
Siobhán McGrath Sarsfields Forward Student


Roll of Honour

1932: Dublin/Galway: 3-2 to 0-2 (Mollie Gill)

1933: Dublin/Galway: 9-2 to 4-0 (Mollie Gill)

1937: Dublin/Galway: 9-4 to 1-0 (Mary Walsh)

1939: Cork/Galway: 6-1 to 1-1 (Renee Fitzgerald)

1940: Cork/Galway: 4-1 to 2-2 (Lil Kirby)

1946: Antrim/Galway: 4-1 to 2-3 (Marjorie Griffin)

1960: Dublin/Galway: 6-2 to 2-0 (Doreen Brennan)

1962: Dublin/Galway: 5-5 to 2-0 (Betty Hughes)

1993: Cork/Galway: 3-15 to 2-8 (Linda Mellerick)

1996: Galway/Cork: 4-8 to 1-15 (Imelda Hobbins)

1997: Cork/Galway: 0-15 to 2-5 (Linda Mellerick)

1998: Cork/Galway: 2-13 to 0-15 (Eithne Duggan)

2008: Cork/Galway: 2-10 to 1-8 (Cathriona Foley)

2010: Wexford/Galway: 1-12 to 1-10 (Úna Leacy)

2011: Wexford/Galway: 2-7 to 1-8 (Ursula Jacob)

2013: Galway/Kilkenny: 1-9 to 0-7 (Lorraine Ryan)

2015: Cork/Galway: 1-13 to 0-9 (Ashling Thompson)

2019: Galway/Kilkenny: 3-14 to 0-17 (Sarah Dervan)


Titles Won:

Galway: 3

Tags: , , , ,