FOOTBALL: SportsDaz Asking Listeners and Followers to Help Pick Our Team of the Year

FOOTBALL: SportsDaz Asking Listeners and Followers to Help Pick Our Team of the Year is attempting something different this year as we are asking our listeners and followers to help us pick our 2020 Ladies Football Team of the Year.

We have compiled 121 names spread across 26 counties from the senior, intermediate and junior panels and next week (15th-19th February), we will bring that figure down to 15.

Through our twitter polls every day, people can vote for their favourite player to advance from the quarter-finals to the semi-finals, and then to the final while we’ll also use the total poll to determine our Player of the Year.

Will Dublin dominate?  Will it be full of senior players?  How many intermediates/juniors will there be?  Or will there be a takeover by players from the second and third tier?  You decide!

We have some surprises in our selection below.  And no doubt, we’ll have some controversial omissions in our final draft of 121 players (8 Goalkeepers, 48 Defenders, 16 Midfielders, 49 Forwards).

All-Ireland senior champions Dublin lead with 14 nominations; intermediate winners Meath have 12; followed by Cork on 11.

There’s eight each from Westmeath, junior champions Fermanagh and Wicklow; Donegal have 7; while Kerry and Armagh get 6 each.

Galway, Monaghan and Clare come next with five; Tipperary and Mayo are on four, Kildare and Laois have three in contention; and there’s two each from Roscommon and Tyrone.

Completing the list of counties with one each are Louth, Cavan, Wexford, Offaly, Leitrim, Antrim, Limerick and Carlow.

So keep an eye out from Monday and make sure your favourite players stay in contention to be named on the 2020 SportsDaz Ladies Football Team of the Year!



Monday 15th February – Defenders (Quarter-Finals – 12×4 players – 24 Advance to Semi-Finals)

Tuesday 16th February – Forwards (Quarter-Finals – 3×3 , 10×4 players – 24 Advance to Semi-Finals)

Wednesday 17th February – Midfielders (Quarter-Finals – 4×4 players  – 8 Advance to Semi-Finals), Defenders (Semi-Finals – 6×4 players – 12 Advance to Final)

Thursday 18th February – Goalkeepers (Semi-Finals – 2×4 players – 4 Advance to Final), Midfielders (Semi-Finals – 2×4 players – 4 Advance to Final), Forwards (Semi-Finals – 6×4 players – 12 Advance to Final)

Friday 19th February – Goalkeepers (FINAL – 1×4 players – Winner on Team), Defenders (FINAL – 3×4 players – Top 6 on Team), Midfielders (FINAL – 1×4 players – Top 2 on Team), Forwards (FINAL – 3×4 players – Top 6 on Team).


DUBLIN – Ciara Trant; Martha Byrne, Leah Caffrey, Niamh Collins, Sinead Goldrick, Aoife Kane, Siobhan McGrath; Jennifer Dunne, Lauren Magee; Sinead Aherne, Lyndsey Davey, Noelle Healy, Nicole Owens, Carla Rowe.

MEATH – Monica McGuirk; Shauna Ennis, Niamh Gallogly, Katie Newe, Megan Thynne, Emma Troy, Sarah Wall; Marie O’Shaughnessy; Emma Duggan, Stacey Grimes, Bridgetta Lynch, Vikki Wall.

CORK – Martina O’Brien; Melissa Duggan, Aishling Hutchings, Eimear Meaney, Erika O’Shea, Roisin Phelan; Orla Finn, Saoirse Noonan, Áine Terry O’Sullivan, Ciara O’Sullivan, Doireann O’Sullivan.

FERMANAGH – Shauna Murphy; Shannon McQuade, Erin Murphy, Sarah McCarville; Roisin O’Reilly; Joanne Doonan, Aisling Maguire, Eimear Smyth.

WESTMEATH – Lauren McCormack; Fiona Claffey, Rachel Dillon, Lorraine Duncan, Lucy Power; Ciara Blundell, Vicky Carr, Lucy McCartan

WICKLOW – Lucy Dunne, Emily Mulhall, Jessica Nolan Byrne, Sarah Jane Winders; Meadbh Deeney, Clodagh Fox, Laura Hogan, Marie Kealy.

DONEGAL – Aoife McColgan; Niamh Carr, Emer Gallagher; Yvonne Bonner, Katy Herron; Karen Guthrie, Geraldine McLaughlin.

ARMAGH – Shauna Grey, Bláithín Mackin, Clodagh McCambridge; Aimee Mackin, Kelly Mallon, Aoife McCoy.

KERRY – Ciara Butler; Niamh Carmody, Ciara Murphy; Lorraine Scanlon; Louise Ni Mhuircheartaigh, Síofra O’Shea.

CLARE – Roisin Considine, Orla Devitt; Chloe Moloney, Grainne Nolan, Niamh O’Dea.

GALWAY – Sinead Burke, Leanne Coen, Nicola Ward; Louise Ward; Olivia Divilly.

MONAGHAN – Nicola Fahy, Aoife McAnespie; Muireann Atkinson; Cora Courtney, Ellen McCarron.

MAYO – Dayna Finn; Aileen Gilroy; Grace Kelly, Sarah Rowe.

TIPPERARY – Lauren Fitzpatrick; Emma Cronin; Roisin Howard, Aishling Moloney.

KILDARE – Sarah Munnelly; Roisin Byrne, Neasa Dooley.

LAOIS – Laura Nerney, Rachel Williams; Mo Nerney.

ROSCOMMON – Jenny Higgins; Aimee O’Connor.

TYRONE – Chloe McCaffrey, Niamh O’Neill.

ANTRIM – Lara Dahunsi

CARLOW – Cliodhna Ní Shé

CAVAN – Donna English

LEITRIM – Vivienne Egan


LOUTH – Claire Donnelly

OFFALY – Ellie McEvoy

WEXFORD – Bernie Breen

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,